The 10th Sport Pembrokeshire Awards have attracted a record number of nominations.

More than 150 sportspeople, coaches, volunteers and clubs have been nominated across the county.

The three finalists in each category will be revealed on November 16, with the overall winners announced at a 10th birthday gala ceremony at Folly Farm on November 25.

The awards are sponsored by Valero, the Western Telegraph, Folly Farm, and Radio Pembrokeshire.

Clr. Elwyn Morse, cabinet member for culture, sport and leisure, said the organisers were delighted to receive so many nominations.

“The popularity of the awards is not only a reflection of the exceptional sporting talent within Pembrokeshire, but also of the thriving nature of grass-roots sport,” he said.

“There is a huge amount of people who give their time freely to support community sports clubs in Pembrokeshire and the awards are an opportunity for others to show how much they appreciate their work.”

Ben Field, manager of Sport Pembrokeshire, the sports development team at Pembrokeshire County Council, said the annual awards have become a significant fixture in the local sporting calendar.

“It’s a great chance to get together and celebrate outstanding achievements and recognise the hard work that goes on behind the scenes,” he said. “I’m grateful to the main sponsors for their continuing support of the event.”

All nominees are invited, along with guests, to attend the Sport Pembrokeshire Awards gala ceremony on the November 25.

If any other member of the County’s sporting fraternity would like to come, please contact Sport Pembrokeshire on 01437 776191 soon, as places are limited.

This year’s nominations are:

Coach of the Year – Peter Crook (squash), Dewi Davies (rugby), Nigel Delaney (football), Janie Harwood (gymnastics), Lynn Howells (netball), Simon Morgan (football), Paul Murphy (powerlifting), Mikey Newman (parkour), Tamara O’Leary (swimming), Jonny Sutton (football), Rhys Thomas (triathlon).

Female Sporting Achievement – Alice Bevan (autograss), Becky Harries (golf), Angharad James (football), Charlene Jones (boxing), Jasmine Joyce (rugby sevens), Anita Madan (weightlifting),, Bethan Morris (golf), Niamh Roach (weightlifting), Ella Sutton (modern pentathlon), Swyn Williams (rowing).

Male sporting achievement – Michael Beckett (sailing), Dom Day (rugby), Nigel Delaney (football), Nick Dyer (squash), Aaron Hosking (powerlifting), Mickey McDonagh (boxing), David Omoregie (athletics), Richard Parker (bowls), Billy Truman (golf).

Boys (U16) Sporting Achievement – Baris Akay (water polo), George Davies (weightlifting), Gethin Davies (rugby), Abe Forsyth (golf), James Heart (weightlifting), Owain Nicholas (athletics), James Tomlinson (athletics), Evan Watts (football and cricket), Alfie Wheeler (squash), Oliver Wheeler (hockey), Shaun Zygadlo (athletics).

Girls (U16) Sporting Achievement – Tia Brace (hockey), Lucy Davies (athletics), Niamh Donovan (showjumping), Ffion Evans (golf), Lleucu George (cricket and rugby), Esme Greer (athletics), Chloe Hood (weightlifting), Seren Rowland-Higgins (gymnastics), Jessica Thomas (gymnastics), Louisa Twigg (swimming), Abbie Williams (triathlon), Carys Worby (golf).

Disability Sport Award – Yvonne Berry (boccia), Jonathan Hubbard (bowls), Matthew Lloyd Evans (target shooting), Sian Jones (boccia), Robert Jamieson (target shooting), Raymond Lillycrop (bowls), Pembrokeshire Puffins Disability Swimming Squad

Junior (U16) Disability Sport Award – Leon Davies (gymnastics), Lily Rice (swimming), Ben Stanton (swimming),, Anthony Triebel (gymnastics).

Unsung Hero – Stuart Beresford (cricket), Carl Britton (football), Shay Buckley (rugby, football, athletics), Adam Collins (football), Owen Duggan (football), Nick Evans (cricket), Dean Haines (volunteer), Ben Leahy and Zac Davies (football), Chris McEwen (boxing), Simon Morgan (football), Angie Nicholls (football), Richard Scriven (rugby), Becky Thomas (hockey), Roger Thomas (cricket), Yelland family (gymnastics).

Club Organiser – Yvette Bevan (gymnastics), Ian Eynon (football),, Matthew Lamb (football/cricket), Simon Nicholas (golf), Jo Salmon and Louisa Zygadlo (athletics), Jonny Sutton (football).

Team Achievement of the Year – Team Bevans, Clarbe Warriors Football Team, Sam and Daisy Coleman, Goodwick United AFC, Haverfordwest Ladies RFC, Pembrokeshire Harriers, Pembroke Octopush Club, Pembrokeshire Youth Rugby Under 19s.

Junior (U16) Team Achievement of the Year – Clwb Rygbi Crymych Under 16s, Fishguard Sports AFC Girls, Greenhill School Under 14s Cricket Team, Haverfordwest Seals Swimming Club, Lamphey School Mixed Relay Swimming Team, Milford Haven Golf Club Juniors, Pembroke Dock Quins RFC Under 10s, Pembrokeshire Schools Football – Under 11s, Saints and YDS U15s netball.

Contribution to School Sport Award – Ysgol Eglwyswrw staff, Justin Head (weightlifting), Matthew Harries (Fenton Primary School), Tavernspite County Primary School staff, Rachel Thomas (Ysgol Dewi Sant).

Student Contribution to School Sport – Ryan Foot (Ysgol Bro Gwaun), Cariann Griffiths (Ysgol Bro Gwaun), Sarah Jenkins (Ysgol Dewi Sant), Ben Leahy and Zac Davies (Ysgol Bro Gwaun), Jamie Meek and Albert Ugwdike (Tasker Milward), Ellie Mezzetta (Sir Thomas Picton), Taku Padiwa (Greenhill School).

Club of the Year – Fishguard Sports AFC Girls, Haverfordwest Cricket Club, Haverfordwest Seals Swimming Club, Meads Squash Club, Milford Haven Gymnastics Club, Neyland Pirates, Pembroke Octopush Club, Pembrokeshire Harriers, Pembrokeshire Powerlifting Club, Strength Academy Wales, Tenby Aces.

Add Comment

Source link