Maratha Yoddhas beat Haryana Warriors to win inaugural Super Boxing League | other sports


Maratha Yoddhas defeated Haryana Warriors 10-9 in the final to win the inaugural edition of the Super Boxing League (SBL) at Siri Fort Stadium in New Delhi on Saturday.

Maratha Yoddhas started the final fight night on the front-foot, wining the first two bouts through Sandeep Singh and Andy Chuaua in their respective categories to give their team a 6-0 lead.

However, Haryana Warriors’ Suman Kumari, Sandeep Nain and Sukhdeep Singh won their bouts to take a 9-6 lead after five bouts.

The last bout became the title decider and Sandeep Chhikara won by a TKO to win the league for Maratha Yoddhas.

The first bout of the night was between debutant Sandeep Singh from the Maratha Yoddhas and Naveen Nehra from the Haryana Warriors in the featherweight category. Sandeep Singh executed some great combinations on Nehra to steal the victory by unanimous decision and give his side a 3-0 lead.

In the second bout of the night, Haryana Warriors’ Parmod Kumar faced Andy Chuaua from the Maratha Yoddhas in the welterweight category. The Warriors’ lost the bout by split decision after four rounds in an evenly contested bout.

In the third bout of the night, Warriors’ Suman Kumari impressed for her side against Lalnunfeli in the superfly category. Suman won by unanimous decision.

Source link